#3

11 May

Lisa has secretly always been my favourite Simpson; her unapologetic geekiness appealed to the (somewhat) apologetic geek in me. And she was probably one of my first strong female role models in pop culture. But, when I was rewatching some old episodes the other day, I realised that even she struggled with this idea of feminism. In the middle of an episode where she gets an eating disorder, she said “I know this obsession with thinness is unhealthy and anti-feminist…but that’s what a fat girl would say!”

That about sums up my feelings about the beauty myth. We know better, but we can’t quite shake it.

Leave a Reply

