Insufficient funds

21 Jun


I am usually zombie-like on the bus each morning, having dragged myself reluctantly from the warm cocoon of my bed only minutes before. With time for a quick spell in the shower but not for breakfast, I am half asleep and in no way ready for the outside world when I lock the front door behind me.

This morning was no different. Worse, in fact, due to the fact there was frost on the ground. I walked to the bus stop, waited in the cold, and then stepped onto the No. 11 when it arrived ten minutes later. And then I realised my travel card was out of credit. Too late for work to walk, no cash at hand. Disaster on a Tuesday morning.

Thankfully my bus driver was the friendly kind of days gone by. With a wave of the hand, my morning worries were gone.

Leave a Reply

