I measure you in music!

11 Oct

I too was entranced by Eggers’ rant against keeping shit real, and when I stumbled across the above wee gem, I thought it really nutshelled it.

Perhaps a non-sequitur, but to me a similar vein- this weekend I erred most tellingingly, demanding a new pal listen to a favourite song of mine, a rather controverial choice. I instantly rued the move, having flashbacks to this story. And yet, I couldn’t resist. I told him to listen really really carefully to the lyrics. I tapped my finger at certain points, hoping my added emphasis would help him fully appreciate the humour. I explained the ethos behind it, forced my point, smiled knowlingly throughout certain verses, and wrapped up with philospohcial anaysis of why it is so awesome. Yikes.

I guess my saving grace is that most people don’t think Eminem has ever kept shit real, so I was more likely the judgee, not the judger.

4 Responses to “I measure you in music!”

  1. Sam October 11, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    You’re an obscurist of the popular order and I can’t relate to you in any way whatsoever. But there is this.

    I went over to Tim and Fran’s before they went to mongolia, turned off their lights, and made them listen to the mash up I made and posted on my blog. It was like forcing my exposed heart into their hands and asking them to breathe on it just right so it doesn’t stop pumping for the three and a half minutes it was outside my body.

    It was too much to ask. But they were very supportive.

    • Alexis October 12, 2010 at 9:02 am #

      It seems only appropriate for us to undertake some sort of musical evaluation of our friendship when I get to Shanghai huh?

      Also, brings to mind an event from my youth. Travelling at 18, with two friends and a sweet box full of minidisks (a whisky box none-the-less; how alt!)We used to ask strangers who we gave lifts to to choose the music. “But be warned!” we would say, “one md is a trick md, and its selection will have you immediately expelled from the car”. A lie, of course. A fun, albeit pretentious game.

      • anjali October 12, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

        you grow up in a trailer park, and see what that’s like MF.

      • Alexis October 12, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

        Note that I said MOST people; I know your heart is true my friend.

Leave a Reply

